Symphony No.1

Symphony No.1, for 5 percussionists and orchestra, was composed in 1981, commissioned by the Dutch Ministry of Culture, after finishing the composition studies at the Groningen Conservatoire with Willem Frederik Bon and Luctor Ponse and receiving the Dutch Composition Prize. Symphony No.1 was performed several times in  the early 80s by the Polish conductor Andrzej Markowski with the Noordelijk Filharmonisch Orkest  (world premiere September 19 1982 at the Groningen Oosterpoort) and on the program of Warsaw Autumn 1983. The 5 percussionists play 66 different percussion instruments, among them metal sheets and rolling stones.
The symphony has 7 movements: aarde, water, steen, hout, ijzer, vuur, lucht ( earth, water, stone, wood, iron, fire, air )

Published by DONEMUS and PEER Classical.