Shining City

Product total
Options total
Grand total

Duration 6:36

Shining City was originally scored for grand organ, 5 percussionists and audio, (version A) commissioned by Muziekcentrum Frits Philips in Eindhoven to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the grand organ. World premiere: August 31 2002 by Leo van Doeselaar and musicians of the Brabants Orkest. Shining City is based on a speech by Ronald Reagan, who called the USA ‘A Shining City upon a Hill’. The audio contains speech samples from Rev. Jesse Jackson, NY governor Mario Cuomo and TVangelist Donnie Swaggart.
Version B: for organ and 1 percussionist ( request of percussionist Tatiana Koleva and organ player Jan Haagen, 2004)
Version C: for sax ensemble and percussion group, (arranged by Jose Riojas in 2012 .)
Version D: orchestral version (3222,42210,perc,tmp,str) arranged for Dutch National Ballet in 2017
A license to perform version D can be obtained via

Electronic simulation of Shining City by the composer:

Sax Ensemble of the Birmingham Conservatoire, March 21 2021 performing version C of Shining City: