Cheese Cake

Product total
Options total
Grand total

Duration 12:00

Cheese Cake, for large ensemble and audio, was written in  2004 for De Volharding, commissioned by the FPA. Cheese Cake is based on a 1978 concert announcement by Dexter Gordon in Carnegie Hall  and sound bytes from George Adams singing ‘The Blues up and down’ and ‘Pay Day Blues’.
Version A: piccolo/flute, soprano sax, altosax, tenorsax, French horn, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, bass trombone, piano, bass guitar, drums with audio tracks. Score in C.
Version B: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, French horn, trombone, marimba, drums, piano, string quartet, bass guitar with audio tracks. Score in C.

1. Welcome (m 1)
2. Cheese Cake (m 59)
3. Secret Love (m 135)
4. The blues up and down (m 175)

De audio tracks consist of 3 layers:
1. spoken word by Dexter Gordon & George Adams
2. artificial echo (delay) from the band
3. musical click track, part of the rhythm section

The live recording contains an extract from the premiere by De Volharding  in Roode Hoed, Amsterdam: